Facebook account deleted

Posted on 2010-06-01 11:17

It took me over an hour but I finally managed to manually remove every last photo, video, like, group, note, friend, list, and event from my facebook account. However, the experience was pretty liberating. I also remembered to change my password before deactivating so I wouldn't accidentally log in from another machine where I had my old password stored and reactivate it again before the 14 days are up.

Hi Nate, We have received a request to permanently delete your account. Your account has been deactivated from the site and will be permanently deleted within 14 days.

I'll miss the conversations that wouldn't have happened otherwise, and it was nice to catch up with some old friends again. The events scheduling and rsvp ability was great - but the fact that people you knew who didn't use facebook couldn't participate was a real downside to that. I imagine leaving facebook won't affect how much I hang out with real people other than providing slightly more time to do it in.